Football Blog: Tangerine Flavoured

Tuesday, March 17, 2026

Electric Dream - the Mighty vs Port Vale


You forget what it's like when games matter. We've been drifting for so long that it feels like forever since a game really had anything significant on it. We all hoped at this point, we'd be nervously checking the top 6 rather than the bottom 4, but meaning is meaning however it comes around... Since Sunday evening I've been imagining tonight. In my head, it involves Josh Bowler weaving in and out of defenders, threading a tangerine line, pulling it tight and them all just toppling over as the head banded one does what the fuck he wants because he's actually that good. 

I know this isn't necessarily realistic - for one thing, we've collectively forgotten that the best right winger we've had in quite a long time is a right winger (imagine someone saying 'listen Stanley, dribbling and wizardry is all very well, but I see you as a kind of advanced '8' so I want you in tackling practice and to watch these videos on tracking during the counter press') and secondly whilst I've tried to imagine positive things this season (like maybe 3 or 4 passes being completed) actual manifestations of my desires have been few and far between. The season been less like seeing tangerine dreams come true and more like  watching a YouTube compilation of hilarious DIY disasters, things like cupboards falling on people's heads, doors falling out of their frames when opened, and walls being knocked down by accident - punctuated by the odd Ashley Fletcher consolation goal. 

Big Si has had his say. Should that matter? I don't know - but it feels like it does. It says 'he still gives a fuck' and we need to give a fuck because if we don't give a fuck, we're going down and that's not what anyone wants. The team is out. Josh Bowler plays, thank fuck and I don't mind the line up. I'm not sure about 442 but it is what it is and we're giving things a try so lets get on with it and get behind them come what may... 


--- 

How the fuck is it even possible to take this lot half seriously.

I've barely finished trying to work out who is playing where. I've hardly exchanged pleasantries with those around me and somehow Port Vale have scored already. This isn't going to be a blog where the facts are strictly followed because my view of the goal was basically - I wasn't paying any real attention, but then evidently someone on the pitch (Walters?) wasn't paying any attention either as the ball went from nowhere in particular to being in the middle of our box and BPF was making a save, then another save and then the ball went in anyway. 

It's like we've deliberately gone out and done the most 'Blackpool this season' thing we could think of to start the game. People say 'this team lacks identity' and I say 'there it is, right there, in that goal' 

Fucking hell. 

C'mon. Get a grip. 

There's a little bit more exhortation to each other on the pitch. The Kop keeps going, the drum keeps beating. We've folded too often, we need to pick ourselves up. There's no point moping. 

The first half is a test of the faith and patience of us all. It's split into roughly two types of moment. The first moment is how the 10 players who aren't Josh Bowler play - the ball is mostly smashed long and hopefully towards the front line. There's a fair bit of wresting and chasing of shadow. It's not all dreadful, Jordan Brown has put his boots on the right feet and is looking less on his heels and more dynamic but it's not exactly quality all round. The 11 players who also aren't Josh Bowler who play for Port Vale don't look a crack outfit either - they've scored, but they're also quite prone to just smashing the ball away like a school football team who've had to pick some lads who don't play football that much because half the year is on a residential trip. 

Then there's Josh. 

It's not that he's never played better than this, it's that we've so rarely seen this type of thing this year. A player, who knows what he's good at, simply doing that. There's a bit of control, it's like he's got sponge on the inside of his boot as he cushions it and brings it down, it even fucking spins back into his path, there's the shimmy, the dart infield, the little show of the ball and then the burst away and past - tempting, teasing, fooling. It ends with a give and a go and then it comes back to him - the shot is high and wide, but it's something, it's some belief, it's someone backing himself. 

Leadership isn't just screaming at people and telling them what to do - it's also about what you are willing to risk and showing that you'll take responsibility - Bowler might be a frivolous show pony who wants to dribble and shoot - but in a side that look terrified, his fearlessness is a glorious counterpoint, an inspiration, a flickering candle of hope - not just to those of us in the stands, but to the players around him as well - someone to pass to, someone to get on the ball, someone who has the beating of their opposite number - in a team with no target man to hold it up, a team without anyone with that searing turn of pace, a team with no one with the physical strength to just lever someone off the ball every time then maybe it's the bandy legged winger who might just be the key to the collective psychology of a group who've too often seemed too easily beaten and too accepting of it. Luxury player? Fuck that idea 50 times over. 

It's not fair though, to just say this is a show pony turning up and prancing. We fuck up in midfield and Bowler ends up chasing back in a situation that looks dangerously 2 on 1. A slide tackle, he's saved the day. He gets up, he checks the head band and he goes again. There's another shot from distance, there's more weaving, dipping of the shoulder. He's always available, he's neat and tidy with the ball and he mixes it up looking as if he's going to drive at goal every time with the odd through ball or touch off to someone else and keeps their confused defence on their toes. 

Maybe I'm going over the top - but it's quality in a season where we've been starved of it. It's like water in a drought. It's actually incredible to think that he's not started a game for us on the right wing when he's capable of looking this good. 

Other things happen. I almost don't need to say 'the ref and linesman are shite' - Their almost all either officious or essentially a random decision generator - and tonight's fell more into the latter category. Jordan Brown hits the post with a drive that I think the keeper gets a hand to and the frustration grows. The atmosphere is strange - it's like being at an Olympic event where a lot of people are watching, but aren't confident enough to really celebrate or bemoan what the competitors are doing because they're not sure about the rules - obviously, we understand the rules - but there's an unspoken sense that the team needs backing - but things aren't really working, so there's a kind of muted, controlled hum - no one wants to really let loose the frustrations, but there's not a lot to get behind and so the sound of oblivious kids is at some points loudest. 


--- 

Half time. Whilst I've got some of what I imagined in terms of Bowler's performance, Vale are yet to collapse in a heap as a result. I'm nervous. 

--- 


The game kicks of just as I come out from under the stand. On the way back to my seat, I stop to give my learned opinion to someone - 'I don't understand why Ennis is still on the pitch - I'd have hooked him and gone 433' - Super Niall has looked on his heels to me. The Ennis that is fully fit is a constant menace, he's on his toes, he's chasing down defenders, he's a constant nuisance. This Ennis (especially after 90 minutes on Saturday) has looked a passive yard off it to me.

Hence my insightful tactical wisdom. 

I look up, we've got the ball, with Bowler, close to goal, it's put across and YESSSSSSS! WE'VE FUCKING SCORED AND I'VE NO REAL IDEA WHAT HAPPENED BUT I DON'T FUCKING CARE BECAUSE THIS ISN'T AN ACTUAL FUCKING NEWSPAPER OR ANYTHING IT'S JUST ME WRITING SHIT ABOUT WHAT IT FEELS LIKE AND THAT FEELS FUCKING GLORIOUS TO SEE THE BALL IN  THE NET THAT BELONGS TO THOSE SHIT FUCKING NOT EVEN FROM A REAL PLACE ANYWAY NO SUCH THING AS 'PORT VALE' IS THERE, IT'S LIKE AN ENGLISH RAITH ROVERS AND WHO THE FUCK ARE RAITH ROVERS ANYWAY AND WHO CARES ABOUT THEIR STUPID CUP RUN THE FUCKING JORDAN GABRIEL THIEVING BASTARDS !!! 

YESSSS! 

A lady who has listened into my conversation of literally 10 seconds earlier smiles at me. "Ennis scored it" 

What the fuck do I know?

Nothing. 

C'mon Pool...

There's a fire been lit now. The noise has solidity, certainty, body to it. We knock it around better. We look something approaching confident. We play something half resembling football and have something that you might call 'a spell' 

Then what I can only describe as the most 'this season' thing you can think of (aside from conceding a first minute random shit goal for no reason) where Vale get down their left, it's as if we've got no right sided defence at all, pop in a cross and someone turns the ball into the roof of the net and the world collapses in on itself. The ground crumples up into a tiny ball and I'm left, staring down at it thinking, I should just pick this up and toss it into the bin because, frankly, that's all this is good for. FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK. 

FUCKS SAKE POOL! 

Deep breath. C'mon. This is Blackpool. This is us. Everyone thinks their team makes it harder than it needs to be, but they don't support Blackpool so they don't have a clue. We're not losing this. We're not not winning this. C'mon. 

The world is still here. The ground is uncrumpled, creases smoothed out. The game resumes. Trying to explain what happened thereafter, is going to be hard. I just stood there, rubbed my chin nervously, just wanting us to score, wanting it so much. Details are vague... 

Evatt makes subs. Honeyman goes off - he struggles tonight, it was as if he tried to play about three positions and ended up between them all. Randall too, he was in a kind of left wing role that didn't give him a lot of joy and Coulson who did ok I think. On comes Karoy (who has a good cameo, bringing a certainty and energy), CJ and Clarkson 

I'm listing the subs because the game just isn't there in my brain. My memory is nerves, hope and wondering 'is this actually in any way enjoyable?' and then also thinking 'there's nothing in my life that remotely comes close to captivating me like this does' 

At one point, the really big lump Port Vale have up front manages to wrestle both Casey and Walters out of the way at the same time and turn and shoot. It's not a great shot, but it's something we lack horribly. That physical threat, that back to goal player. We've got a midfield crying out for that sort of thing sometimes. 

More subs. These aren't popular ones. Off goes Ennis who obviously, I'd have subbed before he scored and on comes Bloxham. The fresh legs do make some sense but it goes down like a lead balloon. Off goes Big Mike, gammy toe and all and then on comes the superstar game changer that is *checks notes* ... James Husband? 

Has Evo gone mad? 

The answer is no. 

A ball slid into Bloxham. The man from a 15th century Shropshire farm does brilliantly, leans in, shields it, spins, slips his man and then squares it and who should be there, just hanging around, but the jazz man himself, Ashley 'don't actually give a fuck any more me and I'm a lot happier for it' Fletcher who turns it home and I could lean back and fall forever into a moment like this because it's made of sheer relief and like exhaling when you've been holding your breath for longer than you really should ever hold your breath. 

We have some corners and stuff. Things that usually happen happen, like CJ running into someone or BPF booting the ball to where there isn't anyone, but we've got the general momentum. I keep looking at the clock. At some point, one of the corners is met by Husband who absolutely meets it with force but it's blocked or parried or something. Whatever, it doesn't go in...  I notice how engaged Bowler is in this game. He's talking, pointing, clapping. He's having little words with people, he's touching gloves with BPF after a scary moment where BPF comes at the last possible moment. 

All of this is very interesting, but I just want a goal. I want a goal so much. 

A corner. Jimmy has been running wide and deep at every corner. Bowler stands there. There's a pause, calm before the storm whips the box into a swirling whirlpool of bodies darting, checking and turning, tangling, pulling and surging. The corner is deep, it's good, Husband goes round the outside again, he's got free, he hits it and FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCK!!!!!!!!!

YES!!!! YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS! 

I haven't celebrated a goal like this for a while. Of all the people. Of all the players to make this moment. 

Here's the thing. I recently had to scrap my car. I really liked my car. It wasn't an amazing or hugely special car, it wasn't expensive or hugely desirable. I just liked it - and sadly the underbody and subframe had corroded to a point that it was dangerous and it was definitely beyond repair. There was a very real prospect it would fall to bits at any point if I carried on driving it. I was really sad when I dropped it at the scrapyard, because I'd spent a lot of time with that car, I'd done a lot of miles in it and it had been a good car. Cars can't run on memories though and nothing lasts forever... 

Hopefully, you can see that isn't simply some information about me that means literally fuck all to anyone, but is actually a cunning metaphor for how I've recently felt watching Jimmy's travails... and to see that moment and to see some sort of redemption for him, I couldn't be fucking happier. Jimmy has done something decent - even if my car is by now a cube. 

(The fact some jobsworth pedant later gave the goal to Raul Walters is neither here nor there - this blog does not run on facts but raw emotion and misplaced optimism and loyalty - don't be a fucking dick about it either, because if you didn't run on those things too, then you'd have given up on this lot some time ago.) 

Now the rest of the game.

There's 7 minutes left. This is a team not built to defend who've taken off most of the defensive players. I start to irrationally panic that we've scored too early as if we've got the fucking luxury of scoring when we choose. 

BPF does some ridiculous thing chesting the ball down and letting it bounce instead of just catching it and I shout 'DON'T FUCKING PISS ABOUT KEEPER' so that's him told. Husband shadows the ball back but he doesn't come and get it so Jimmy kicks it out of play instead. I feel sick. I feel faint.  

Half the team have forgotten how to kick a ball. Clearances are flat or spooned or sliced. Tommy Bloxham is galloping around like a schoolkid on a race to find all the treasure in a school activity he's over excited about. He's absolutely wound up in a way he's not really been very much. There's an endearing moment where Evo appears and exhorts them 'forward' and Bloxham picks up on the message and runs about waving his arms, beckoning them all wildly, as if trying to shepherd some animals across a road. Karoy belts a few away with a reassuring thump. I almost throw up in my mouth as one of the Vale subs looks like he's got in, but he does a little step over that wasn't really needed and that lets someone get back and force him wide. 

CJ makes a sliding tackle. CJ gets up and chases and gets a block in. I'm worried because CJ has done two good things, so potentially the next thing is a disaster - but no, CJ heads the ball away, not once but twice.

People are leaving. I can't comprehend it.  

There's a break where Bloxham gets cut down and then we do a weird thing from the free kick, kicking it straight out into the corner, like kicking for touch in rugby. I don't get that at all - but then, Vale try and get out, the ball comes out, it's down the other side now, I'm checking the clock again and again and then there's a wrestle and a free kick to us and it's celebrated like the final whistle but it's not and the ground is up, the noise swirls, the game goes on and even now I'm thinking, don't take this for granted it's not over and then... 

mercifully
blissfully
joyously 

It is over. 

Thank fuck for that. 

--- 


No one could pretend that this was a 'turning point' where the team clicked and everything was perfect. There is no 'turning point' in this season - all that matters is the results. I don't care how, we just need to get over the line. Style? Fuck style. It was 3 beautiful points. It was some fight, some unity, some character in getting back up twice and turning the game round.  

There was some long hair and white boots eccentric quality in the midst of it all and that quality impacted. Aside from the bits where he stood out, at one point in the second half, Bowler had 3 players on him when he got the ball. That opens up space for others. We built Championship wins against very good teams around the fact they couldn't ignore him or even risk leaving him man to man and to have finally tried him where he fits best gives us a definitive strength we didn't have before tonight and should give others opportunity too because of his ability to pull teams out of shape. That's something positive to work on. 

Whether we've got anyone to play on the left, I don't know. Randall or Clarkson - they should have enough about them to make that work to some degree - maybe they need a little time to get into the groove, neither of them have had any consistent run. 

Tonight though, isn't about tactical triumphs or analysis - (though, Evo shoved the booing of his subs back at us) - it's just about having done enough to get the points. Cardiff will be a totally different test, Burton another thing again. Port Vale are cut adrift at the bottom and we can't be complacent or sloppy or celebrate it too much, we have to keep going, build on this and most of all, fight where we need to and get the ball to Bowler and then take it from there. 

Onward
 

You can follow MCLF on facebookTwitterBlueskyThreads and Instagram or use Follow.it to get posts sent to your email If you appreciate the blog and judge it worth 1p or more, then a donation to one of the causes below which help kids and families in Blackpool would be grand.


Writing about football is possibly a bit pointless in an era when there's the telly and youtube and videos all over the shop. It's not my living this and it's just something I do because I do so there's no problem with reading it and then getting on with your life - but if you do want to chuck some money at the cause of some random fella writing shit no one ever asked him too, then Patreon. is a thing.





























You can follow MCLF on facebook or Twitter or use Follow.it to get posts sent to your email If you appreciate the blog and judge it worth 1p or more, then a donation to one of the causes below which help kids and families in Blackpool would be grand. Home-Start Blackpool Food Bank

Sunday, March 8, 2026

Nothing risked - little gained? - the Mighty vs Wigan Athletic


I'm not a big fan of declaring games as 'must win' but all week, this game has lurked in my head as exactly that. We've spent all season waiting for the turnaround that has never materialised and now, here we are, facing another side in a similar boat to us, staring down the barrel of the dreaded run in, having abandoned all hope of anything beyond survival. Just to cheer you all up - the best case now is abject mediocrity. 17th looks appealing... The fear is obviously, something much worse, a relegation when you've recruited a team for promotion. What has happened has us here, but today, we need to play like we're starting afresh - How you start the final stretch doesn't dictate whether you make it over the line but it certainly has an impact. 


Oh, for confidence and belief. Oh for a side we can love and celebrate. Oh for a team with credit in the bank whose mistakes we can balance against their successes and forgive. This is tension. This is a time when songs, sung in full voice still feel hollow as we're screaming with desperation, not chanting in celebration. We're trying to evoke something we've not seen, not making noise to the tempo of the game. 


It feels like a kind of madness to think that pretty much 7 years ago we turned up here, to watch a side unfamiliar to many and thrown together with the backdrop of empty stands and toxic turmoil. A team managed by someone who had never before (and never since) managed a football league team and that side was considerably better off than this one.

We've come a long way since and yet, we're further back than where we started. That's football I suppose. Always kicking sand in your face but still, we return for more.


We're not drifting though. Oh no. Definitely not. No drifting here. Just a steady, forward thinking football club with 'progress' running through everyone's body like the lettering in the proverbial stick of rock... 

I've found myself in uncharacteristic despair. You can probably tell. I'm not sure what we should do. Whichever way you put this lot together, disaster never seems far away. The belief that we just need something to drop and then things click into place has ebbed away and now it's about doing basics, scrapping, competing, struggling, not giving in. A season that started with promises of 'players that'll get you off your seat' is now looking to have achieved just that, in so much as, a proportion of fans aren't in their seats but doing something else with their lives... Lets just hope that, however it comes, we find ourselves 3 points richer than we started the game. That's all that matters right now. 


It's been a long time since Bloomfield Road has felt remotely like it did that day almost 7 years ago. We've had precious little to cheer in a while. The team selection doesn't actually scream 'attack, attack.... attack,attack,attack' - It's as if Evo has decided he can't trust the footballers and so has picked all the runners instead.

Sexy football indeed. Times are hard. Needs must. 

Lets put aside all the griping and just do what we're actually all here for. 

C'MON YOU POOOOOOOOL! 

--- 


I'm just about to say 'Why is Brown on free kicks?' - We'd made nothing of set pieces taken by our 1980s tribute midfielder last week and he doesn't seem the most obvious candidate to be our lower league Beckham. I'm glad I haven't said it out loud by the time he's taken it, as he provides a lovely ball, curling and dropping exactly into the path of Ollie Casey's forehead, which propels it, with a deeply satisfying certainty beyond the keeper and into the net. It's the kind of goal we concede. Simple and deeply frustrating to let in - but for once, we're on the other side of that and it feels magnificent. The funny thing is, when you concede these goals, they feel like defensive failures, capitulations by the gutless players who have failed in preventing the most obvious of outcomes - but when you score them, it's all about the charging run, the timing of the leap and the quality of the ball. I love old fashioned goals and that was a perfect example. Casey loves it, we love it and the Pool are staying up. These are there for the taking... Top half by May anyone? C'MON POOL! 


I might have got a bit carried away there for a moment, though, for a good while it does appear that Wigan are there for the taking. They're horrible for the first half an hour or so and we create a lot of pressure. We don't create many chances but we have a lot of possession in 'good areas' ((c) N Critchley (2023-24)) - we keep them pinned back and we look hungry for the fight. Brown is having a good game, his tackling is more certain and solid. Initially the combined energy of the midfield 3 is helpful to us, we play with a kind of manic approach and whilst little of quality emerges from this, it is very disruptive to Wigan. 

Bloxham has a chance to fiddle the ball into space in the box, he does the first part well, but the shot is well wide. The same player has a chance to run onto a through ball and he falls between chasing it down and trying to win a penalty and does neither very well. Fletcher has a couple of moments, a similar doomed chase where cynically, I think he might have been better running across the defender and falling over and one unfortunate moment where, unexpectedly, the ball breaks for him in a great position but he's on his heels and his touch is terrible and the brief moment of excitement disappears in an instant. 

The crowd is positive. We are fighting. This isn't great football, this isn't anything other than a lower league relegation scrap - but we knew that was what were coming to see and the players on the pitch are clearly doing their best to outscrap Wigan and so far, they've done it reasonably well.

We're onto the linesman for an awful call. We're onto the ref - this weeks edition has the air of a grammar school prefect who has outgrown his uniform and is drunk on the power of his little enamel prefect badge. He stalks about noting things in his little special book with a strange mix of self satisfaction and confusion. The game is niggly and there's lots of falling over and he gives some very odd decisions. Refs are refs are refs and both sets of fans and both managers (both yellow carded) are incensed by him. 

So far so good then? The exercise in pragmatic selection and pragmatic football (pass, pass... lump) is paying off? We've not been very aesthetic, but Wigan haven't had anything at all... 

Don't count your chickens. This is Blackpool.

Wigan surge through, breaking our lines for the first time, BPF is initially effective, forcing their lad wide, but then, they retain the ball, calmly move it a couple of times, first back, then square, there's no challenge and now it's a chance to shoot - the shot isn't all that, it's on target yes, but instinctively it feels manageable, more central than in the corner, but it squirms past BPF's arm and thumps into the goal, a stomach punch to the tangerine cause and one that felt preventable. 

To say we don't cope well with adversity as a team is stating the obvious. What defines this season more than anything, isn't so much the first goal we concede - but how we react to it. Today is another one of those games. The players look bereft. It's like the opposition scoring is the worst possible thing that can happen. If I was in charge of them, I'd lock them in a room for 2 days with "Even the best teams concede goals, stop being a bunch of melts and fucking react to it better or get a job in ALDI or washing cars or mining for phosphate, or whatever else it is, just basically anything where it isn't a basic inevitability that you have to concede goals as part of your working day" playing over and over again for the entire 48 hours...

I don't know if Evo has tried this yet, but, true to form and to use a technical term, we 'go to shit' once again and everything suddenly looks rushed and panicky - there's been very few occasions this season where we've brushed off a set back as 'something that happens' and got straight back into the game.  Happily, Wigan aren't very good so there's no terminal harm caused despite our best efforts to the contrary... 

--- 

Overall, we've done ok (ish), the effort has been there - The problem is - we've had a long spell with the better of the play and a short spell with Wigan on top and we're drawing because we couldn't make much of being on top. The team aren't lacking in effort, but it's glaringly obvious we're lacking in the quality to calm the game and thread a pass or the bit of magic to beat a man or the movement of a proper goal poacher to give the options to the players in the 'good areas' 

--- 

We're off again and Wigan pick up still on their upturn from the end of the previous half. They're hitting our right flank and getting some joy. Firstly Walters is cut out the game, turned round like discraded paper cup in on an airport runway being blown by the displaced air of a fighter ject by a ball and a run behind him... they're in, but happily their lad has a 'CJ Hamilton' moment and completely fails to control the ball. That's one we've got away with. 

Then, a similar ball into the right back position and Brown and Horsfall both hesitate, expecting the other to chase it. It's like watching two cars stall on the starting grid as they lurch uncertainly and the Wigan lad races in, cuts inside and places a shot past the keeper. Luck is on our side as it cracks the inside of the post and then the bounce is unexpectedly kind, sending the ball, not back over the line, but rolling kindly into the arms of BPF. 

I start to watch the subs. It's really evident we need *something* more. We are making very, very little and the stretching and sprinting on the touchline offers more promise than the clumsy football on offer on the pitch. 

One moment seems to sum us up. Fletcher has a quiet game, but he is a good player. I'm watching the front two, whose 'needs must' partnership of previous months seems to be extended long past the point of need. Fletcher comes short, signals to Ihiekwe to roll it too his feet. He does, Fletcher, comes to the ball, then peels away, a clever dummy that sells his man totally. It's pointless though because Bloxham hasn't read it and the ball rolls through harmlessly. The little bits of occasional skill we produce aren't leading to anything because the team don't seem to be on a wavelength - that's been notable all year, it's been notable longer perhaps, but last year, with the likes of Apter and some ginger kid I've forgotten all about, we had individuals who could make things happen. 

Surely we have those on the bench... Randall, Bowler, Clarkson. There's a fucking good set of footballers right there. They can do mad stuff like have a shot and pass to someone else. Niall Ennis! He's an actual proper striker. He scores goals and everything! 

Still we wait. Still the the game mostly resembles a low quality fight between two blokes who've had too many jagerbombs and both been dumped by their girlfriends that night, and are taking out their mute frustration and fears on each other but really, they're both too pissed to do any damage to each other. You feel they're likely to stumble into a piece of street furniture and hurt themselves as they are to actually land an effective punch. 

Finally we get Ennis. Why he's not starting every week by now when he's been back for well over a month is a mystery. I can only guess there's more to his fitness than meets the eye. The game goes on a bit longer in the same manner. The ref struts around doing inexplicable shit. Passes go astray. Wigan escape down our right again, but fortunately another of their lads has the touch of a ping pong ball on concrete and we escape yet again. 

We have a couple of shots but they're barely worth mentioning. We win a few free kicks and the Horse gamely runs about looking like he's got more idea than anyone else in the box, but nothing really comes of them. The Horse gets beaten for pace at the back and Casey (who has a really, really good game today, his best for ages) makes a tremendous block to save his partner. The Horse makes another run in the box and seems to get wrestled to the ground. The ref gives Wigan a free kick because he's a fucking idiot whose legs and arms are too long for his kit. 

All the while, the tension is palpable. I'm looking at the line every 20 seconds. The players on it have done so many shuttle runs they're probably ready for a rest now. It would be vey on brand Blackpool FC 2526 for our players to injure themselves by warming up for too long. Evatt seems caught in indecision. It's obvious that to win the game we need to risk losing it. That's always true. It's the nature of football that to attack, you have to sacrifice defence a bit. Anderson was helpful first half when his manic energy was disruptive but by now, it's both counter productive and less manic. Honeyman is a similar tale - his distribution has become genuinely awful, he passes it out of play several times, he doesn't look to have the legs left when he collects in a rare moment of opportunity all he can do is check back and play it square - which defeats the point of having him in the advanced role. The clock ticks on. Evatt strolls back and forward. He stands on the touchline. He takes his jacket off. He puts his hands behind his back. He moves them forward, he locks his fingers together. He walks towards the dugout as if to speak to Crainey and then he turns away again.

I kind of sympathise with his double bind, but c'mon, we can also lose games trying not to lose them... Why is this season defined by fear? 

Time ticks on and on and on and still we wait. Finally, Bowler and Randall are readied. This is one of the most exciting players I've seen in the last decade and one of the best players I've seen play against us in League 1 They've got an entire minute or so, plus injury time to impact the game.

Not surprisingly, they don't. 

--- 

Afterwards, it's still a strange feeling. It's a sign of how poor we've been to say 'there's something to be taken from the fact we scrapped' - it's not a lot, but to have folded against this opposition would, I think have been potentially terminal to our self belief. 

That said, the straws I've clutched are flimsy ones. We didn't take 3 points in a game where the opposition were poor. We didn't even look to try. After the game Evatt says, essentially 'I didn't want to risk it' - I value the fact he's honest about it, even if I disagree. I've waxed lyrical about Josh Bowler here plenty of times before - I would find a way to play him more often than not, there's no question in my mind about that - but I can respect if Evatt doesn't see him the same way - what I find more strange is, knowing where we are and how we've been all season, that we've signed players in January we don't feel like we can use. Joel Randall is a player Evatt's signed twice and Leighton Clarkson is our 'statement' from January - yet, they sit on the bench in a 'must win' game. 

The point is this - we're now trying to reinvent ourselves as a pragmatic set of scrappers who can reduce a game to a wrestling match. I do grudgingly get why a manager might do that - but the squad isn't designed for this, any more than it's designed for anything else. There are only so many players who can effectively execute that style and whilst we did it reasonably well for 30 minutes and probably, we matched Wigan for effort and niggly stuff and we ran about a lot, but like everything else we've seen this season, as soon as one player tires or has a knock, we're then throwing in ill suited players to that style or carrying bodies who aren't at 100%. 

Time will tell if the pragmatic 'stopping the rot' decision was the right one. In a world of tangerine tinted sunlight, we go to Wimbledon and we combine today's effort with a bit of the quality we didn't see today and we win the game and take a new found confidence as a group into the remainder of the matches.

All hail Alpha Critch and his psychological masterclass. 

This season though, has had a way of smashing any optimism in the face. Just as my hopes get up, they belly flop into the ground in an undignified and painful manner. I'm also seeing a world where, we go, try to do the same thing and we're fatigued after 20 minutes and Wimbledon 2 up by halftime. If that happens and we don't change shape and stick the Horse up front, I'm done. 

We had to win. We didn't lose. We're still alive, we've still got it all to play for. The issues of one game pale into significance in comparison to the issues over time. We need to get to the end of this season and wipe the slate clean and build something properly, something actually thought through, something with a bit of depth and some clarity to what it actually is. 

We just need to get there first. 

Onward


You can follow MCLF on facebookTwitterBlueskyThreads and Instagram or use Follow.it to get posts sent to your email If you appreciate the blog and judge it worth 1p or more, then a donation to one of the causes below which help kids and families in Blackpool would be grand.


Writing about football is possibly a bit pointless in an era when there's the telly and youtube and videos all over the shop. It's not my living this and it's just something I do because I do so there's no problem with reading it and then getting on with your life - but if you do want to chuck some money at the cause of some random fella writing shit no one ever asked him too, then Patreon. is a thing.

Follow on Twitter!

Get MCLF in your inbox!

Subscribe with a feedreader!

Buy the book (proceeds to Blackpool Foodback)

Blog Archive

Yet another bad owner. Where do they breed them?

This is Brooks Mileson. He owned Gretna FC. If you don't know who he is or what the score is with Gretna, it might be worth giving it ...